News and Events

The Commonwealth Realms and the Diamond Jubilee

What does the term ‘Commonwealth Realm’ mean? Find out which countries are Commonwealth Realms and what celebrations are taking place in them during Diamond Jubilee year

A Commonwealth Realm is a Realm which has The Queen as its Monarch. Thus as well as being Queen of the United Kingdom, Her Majesty is also Queen of Australia, Queen of Tuvalu and so on.

The Queen is represented in each of these Realms by a Governor-General, who is appointed on the advice of the government of the country in which they serve.

There are 15 Commonwealth Realms in addition to the UK. All 15 Realms will be visited by a member of the Royal family during the Diamond Jubilee year.

Other celebrations to mark the Diamond Jubilee in each of the realms will be announced via the offices of the Governors-General within each realm. More information will be provided as it becomes available.

Click on one of the links below to find out more about The Queen’s role in a particular Realm:

Antigua and Barbuda


The Bahamas






New Zealand

Papua New Guinea

St Christopher and Nevis

St Lucia

St Vincent and the Grenadines

Solomon Islands


About the author


Leave a Comment